People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

In recent years, it is clear that in many countries quality of family time has been on the decline. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factor behind this negative tendency before elucidating its detrimental impacts on both family and society as a whole.

Many people reduce family time is attributable to various reasons. First and foremost, due to a hectic schedule, a host of individuals spend extended hours at their workplace. For instance, given their meager earnings, a wide range of laborers have to work overtime to cover their living conditions, and this relentless pursuit of financial stability often deprives them of their families. Another driving factor is the heavy use of technological gadgets among children. By being overly addicted to technology devices, children could become immersed in spending countless hours on social media texting their friends such as, Facebook instead of engaging in conversations with their parents, thereby dramatically mitigating the quality of family time and creating a rift in family relationships that can have lasting effects.

This phenomenon has put both family and society in jeopardy. Regarding the former, the lack of family time together could widen the emotional gap and weaken the bonds among family members. The varying work schedules often lead to missed opportunities for shared experiences and meaningful interactions, which are essential for nurturing strong familial connections, whereas this could lead to a lot of family problems, namely domestic violence or even divorce in the worst-case scenario. Concerning the latter, the deterioration in family relations could give rise to many social issues. Given that more time with social media and less time with parents, children are more likely to dive deep into toxic influences from bad friends on the internet, this implication could lower their awareness about toxic behaviors, leading the acts of crime and violence.

In conclusion, hectic work schedules and heavy use of technology gadgets are to blame for straining family ties, and this trend has many repercussions affecting both family and society.