People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

Undeniably people nowadays sleep less that at any􏰀me in the past. This essay will delve deep into the phenomenon to shed light on the root cause, and then explore the poten􏰀al consequences of this aspect.

From my personal standpoint, modern technology should shoulder much of the blame for the current dearth of sleep. The screens of our mobile phones, and other devices, emit a high volume of blue light, which tells our brains it’s day􏰀me. Obviously, if we used a phone in bed before we try to sleep, it will be much harder or our nervous system to know it is 􏰀me to sleep. Another principal cause is the organiza􏰀on of our work and school lives. In other words, society is organized around an early wake-up 􏰀me, and if people are not ge􏰁ng enough sleep, they will struggle when have to get out of bed at dawn next day.

From the individual’s perspec􏰀ve, not sleeping enough can lead to physical and mental problems. Our bodies use sleep to repair themselves and consolidate what we learn through the day, so it goes without saying that only few hours of sleep every night will lead to a broad spectrum of health issues. For those in our vicinity, the worst possible outcome is death. For instance, traffic sta􏰀s􏰀cs showed a high percentage of fatal crashes caused by drowsy drivers are a sobering reminder of the effect sleep can have on the wider world.

In summary, the lack of sleep many of us suffer from can be a􏰂ributed to the modern world and the technology we rely on. It is blindingly obvious that this sleep shortage has poten􏰀ally disastrous effects and requires urgent a􏰂en􏰀on.