People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

Most people these days spend less time asleep than they used to many years ago. This is because we tend to work longer each day, thus reducing the amount of sleep time available and this results in fatigue.

People nowadays dedicate a huge portion of their daily life into work. This happens because companies these days demand more from their workers so they can keep up with the competition. This means that these workers will return home late in the evening, significantly reducing the amount of free time available to them. Most people will probably use some of their free time for recreation purposes, for example, playing games or spending time with their family. This inevitably takes up some of their sleep time.

People who don’t get enough sleep will experience negative effects during the day, most prominently, fatigue. In other words, they will be less energized in doing their daily activities. This effect may cause them to lose focus and make mistakes more easily. For example, a recent study showed a higher productivity rate in office workers who sleep for 8 hours a day, compared to those who sleep 4 hours each night.

In conclusion, we live in a world where our job demands so much from us that we lack the time needed for rest. This causes us to experience fatigue during the day, which greatly reduces our productivity.