People nowadays tend to have children at older ages. Why? Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, it is becoming increasingly common for couples to marry and start a family later in life. This trend would introduce both pros and cons, but I assume that the benefits do outstrip the drawbacks.

On the one hand, getting married in their thirties or more could bring a potential disadvantage related to the generation gap. This is to say, parents may be too old when their first child enters teenagers, which is when there is a great change in their attitude. As a result, there may be a lack of mutual understanding between the parents and the children. Another negative effect is that having children at older ages may lead to an aging population. As a consequence, senior citizens may have to work full-time even though they are too old to work. For example, in Japan, one of the countries with the highest aging population rate in the world, the government has increased the retirement age from 60 to 65.

On the other hand, I believe that the advent of starting a family later is much more advantageous. Firstly, when a couple gets married and has children from a young age, they are sacrificing a great deal of freedom and opportunity. Assuming they were not born wealthy, it will be impossible to focus on a successful career and also be an attentive parent. Secondly, parents can choose the most appropriate educational style for their children. The main reason is that before having children, people have enough time to investigate the advantages and disadvantages of parenting methods. Also, many parents may observe and receive advice from friends, their parents and other experienced people, so this may help them become wise parents. Thirdly, people may have the financial ability to raise their children. As a result, the children can fully develop intellectually and healthily.

In conclusion, although having children at a later age brings about a negative aspect regarding generation gap and aging population, I strongly believe that their contributions to their future child and their own life are more fruitful.