People nowadays tend to have children at older ages. Why? Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years most parents prefer to have children at an older age. In my opinion, this can be more beneficial than detrimental.

Older parents can provide more resources to their children. Most of the time, older parents have enough money to compensate for the living expenses of a child. This is crucial to the quality of the child’s life. The child will be rid of good education, which is an important factor in determining his/her future. Another point is that, older parents are likely to be more attentive to their children than younger parents. Let us say that you are in your mid 20’s, an important meeting is coming up but the day of the meeting happens to be on the same day as the birthday party of your child. Chances are that you are going to that meeting, missing the party. This is a prime example of how younger parents are inclined to choose climbing the corporate ladder than their own children, not because they want to, but because they have to.

The only disadvantage of having older parents is that they have less opportunities to see their children grow. With old age, you are at a higher risk of contracting diseases. Some might spend a majority of their late life on hospital beds. By the time that their child starts college, older parents will be nearing the end of their life. Having grandkids and seeing the success of their children becomes a harder task as the years go by.

Overall, although older parents have less time with their children, they can be more attentive and provide more resources to their children.