People nowadays tend to have children at older ages. Why? Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Most people from developed countries believe that a raise in career and earning money is the most significant factor in their lives rather than having children. Therefore, young mothers prefer giving birth at the age of 35 or even older, and fathers are trying to create ideal conditions to have babies. In my opinion, the advantages of having children at older ages do not outweigh the disadvantages, despite the fact that it has some benefits.

To begin with, the major advantage of having a child at an older age, as mentioned above, is the ability to cover all his or her needs in terms of feeding, clothing, and educating. For instance, the salary of an ordinary citizen of the EU is equitably enough to keep up at least one child per family, and it would grow constantly, ameliorating life conditions. Another benefit of the trend is based on the fact that parenthood demands a high level of maturity. Moreover, parents at an older age are capable of avoiding some banal mistakes that young parents could make and are mentally ready to have offspring. Young mothers are frequently abandoning their children due to their inexperience and desire to be more independent in order to grow up the career ladder. Thus, aged families that are ready to have a child are considered to be more suitable in this situation thanks to their life experience.

However, there are some drawbacks that challenge becoming parents in the older stage of life. First of all, the main problem is the biological factor: age itself. The human organism tends to age rapidly, and the risk of heavy complications after birth will affect the body and later life. Secondly, the quality of life differs from country to country, and conditions there could be divergent. For example, Nigeria is one of the poorest countries in comparison to other countries in the world, and despite the financial issues, people in that place stand essential and have six children or more. Furthermore, the age of average parents there does not reach to 30 years. Due to these factors, it is contended that reproducing at a younger age is better as we are still in perfect health.

In conclusion, having children later has several benefits and drawbacks, compared to the factors that have been given in the essay such as career growth, conditions enhancement, health and mental problems. Nevertheless, it outweighs its drawbacks when risk, dangerous complications and difficulty to raise.