People should lift their heads from their computer and phone screens and start living life. To what extent do you agree with this statement? What can be done to encourage especially younger people to leave technology behind?

Nowadays, the more advanced technology becomes, the more people rely on such devices in everyday life. This phenomenon has been growing increasingly alarming each year, and people have been encouraged to take time off the Internet and be more active in living their everyday lives. As for my opinion, I wholeheartedly agree with this statement and believe that not only does relying on your technology may result in a sedentary lifestyle, but staying away from your computers can help you nurture relationships and experience valuable memories in real life.

To begin with, a sedentary lifestyle revolving around technology can affect one’s health, both physically and mentally. People, not just young adults, who spend most of their time on the Internet have a higher possibility of damaged eyesight, sore muscles and obesity due to the fact that they barely exercise and never leave their devices’ side. Moreover, the Internet is a double-edged sword: not only helpful knowledge can be learnt, but false ideals can also be shared widely on the Internet. Phrases like “Skinny is the new beauty” and “Boys do not cry” can distort one’s beliefs in certain fields and affect their actions. Despite advanced warnings, young adults who just came out of their childhood may still be naive; they saw this information repeatedly fed into their minds through their mobile screens and slowly but surely, they fell prey to these awful claims to an unhealthy mindset.

Another idea that also needs to be pointed out is that people, not only young adults, should live their lives more instead of spending all their time on the Internet. It is undeniable that you need to experience it in order to feel the fullest about it.

In conclusion, I fully agree with the idea that young adults nowadays should spend less time on their mobile devices and more on the outside world.