People sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this ? What are the effects on them?

These days, it is suprising that numbers of people having a shorter sleep per day have been increasing. This tendency is the result of several factors, which could lead to many nagative impacts.

There are a variety of reasons for this issue in today’s society. Regarding social media, the majority of people probably have at least one electricity device which can access online social platforms, such as Tik tok and Facebook, which causes customers to deeply engage into these platforms regardless of staying up late. Because their algorithms are created to understand the habits and hobbies of users, and automatically recommend personalized contents, leading them to be obsessed with social media. The other reason is that most employees work to a deadline despite going home after working. The managers usually give assignments to their staff and require them to complete for a short period, making these staff stay up late to avoid their managers underestimating their abilities.

Several related problems could result from having a insufficient sleep. Firstly, brains of those who stay up late and weak up early are exhausted, which make them feel tired, a sense of lacking of energy, even some people have head pain. In the long run, continuously insufficient sleep causes some mental diseases such as sleeplessness and depression, which are difficultly treated and take a large amount of money. In addition, sleeping shorter than the normal threshold is responsible for difficult concentrating on studying or working in the following day. The consequence is that the production and productivity of them might be declined, which impacts negatively to their career or academic results.

As mentioned above, there are several factors causing the insufficient sleep and this could lead to several problems of mental health, work and education.