People sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this ? What are the effects on them?

It is common for individuals to get less sleep than in the past. This phenomenon may be caused by several factors, which makes various negative impacts on people’s lives and health.

There are several factors bringing about the aforementioned tendency in terms of spending late-night time completing massive workloads and increasing availability of night-time entertainment. Regarding the former, people in today’s society could spend night time to completing all excessive works, assigned by their teacher or employers. For example, as exams approach, teachers may assign a large amount of homework to ensure satisfactory exam results, which may force students to sleep less to complete their tasks. Furthermore, many kinds of late-night entertainment such as bars or nightclubs are on the rise, which attract public attention. As a result, many people could suffer from sleep deprivation to engage in these entertainment, helping them enjoy their nightlife.

This phenomenon may result in several related effects including leading to health issues and creating negative moods. First of all, when people sleep less, several diseases may gradually develop such as sleep disorders and even more serious conditions like strokes. Consequently, individuals’ health may deteriorate, while their immune system gradually weakens. Moreover, this tendency may make negative impacts on people’s mood, who sleep less. This is because the amount of sleeping time shapes whether people feel energetic or tired and unmotivated. For example, if people get eight hours of sleep, they may be refreshed and happy.

In conclusion, individuals nowadays sleep less than in the past stems from several significant factors, which creates various negative impacts in terms of leading to health issues and creating bad moods.