Plant and animal diversity is declining around the world. Why is this happening? Why is this a problem? (this question might also be a cause / solution essay)

There is a debate about the consequences and causes of decline in plant and animal diversity around the world. It is a big problem for humanity, because ecosystems will be imbalanced by pollution on the Earth’s surface. This essay will discuss both the reasons and outcomes of this problem.

Since the industrialization era, people have been polluting the air too much. It is a very big ecological problem. This air is harmful not only for the human body, but for plants and animals too. For instance, animals that live near roads or highways have a big number of heavy metals in their body, often this number of metals is either lethal or can cause illnesses that lead to death. To solve this ecological issue, individuals invented special filters that consume elements that pollute air, making it safer for living organisms. However, not every factory or car producer uses this technology, so there is a lot of work to do.

One of the reasons why this problem must be solved is ecosystems imbalance. Throughout millions of years, forests, planes, mountains, and others had their own ecological systems that were in balance. Taking something from ecosystem in big amount breaks this balance. As a result, the population of some flowers or animals will decrease in these areas. For instance, if some hunters kill 75% rabbits in one forest, rest will not be enough for wolfs or other predators. This lead to death of many wolfs there, it means after a month there will be less of them to be eaten by worms at the end of their life, while worms are beneficial for plants growth. In other words, decline of ones will lead to loss in population of others in system.

In conclusion, decline in animal and plant diversity may imbalance ecosystems and one of the reasons of it is air pollution.