Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is acknowledged that it is necessary for worldwide sporting competitions, such as World cup or Euro, to address tensions and to develop a sense of patriotism in a good manner. From my perspective, I completely agree with this statement, and the following essay will discuss further about the concept.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why sports organizations ought to hold such popular sporting events for many countries. To begin with, taking part in activities regarding health might not only help many people to develop their well-being, but also connect individuals from different nations together to create a friendly environment. To exemplify, many famous football players have chosen to join a football club in another country to share the same objectives with other players, thus establishing sustainable relationship between them to ease some challenging issues including language barrier and cultural difference. Additionally, being the representative of a country to take part in such global sporting occasions might make the local community feel proud of their belongings. For example, the Vietnamese football team was the runner-up of the 2018 U23 Asian football championship, which was the biggest achievement for the nation’s football history and the country itself.

On the other hand, there could be some drawbacks of holding international sporting events. Firstly, there are some situations showing that organising those events would have an adverse effect on some nations’ budgets, which should be used for any other meaningful activities such as helping disadvantaged children. Many developing countries, for example, might have to invest more in the country’s sport facilities to prepare for such worldwide occasions, two of which could be developing the nation’s stadium and security service. Secondly, conflicts between sports fans of some countries may be unavoidable. For instance, online arguments between individuals in England and Italy occurred after the final stage of Euro 2020 due to unintelligible fouls committed by many players.

To summarize, although there might be some disadvantages from organizing international sports events, it is still essential for those occasions to connect individuals worldwide and develop a person’s sense of patriotism.