''Prevention is better than cure''. Researching is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree

”Prevention is better than cure”. Making researches and providing treatments for diseases is not cost effective, therefore investing in preventative measures would be more effective. Although researching can help with knowledge advancement in the medical field, I am of the opinion that allocating resources for curbing illnesses such as malaria and also health education in schools is more important.

Continuous learning is essential in the medical field. Owning to the fact of numerous new health cases arising and it is crucial to be well versed. Funding is key to a successful research, this is due to the facilities and experiments needed for it. Many successful treatments nowadays, is as a result of research and trials carried out. These developments, are however mainly beneficial to developed countries that have the infrastructures to carry out these studies. For instance, bone marrow transplant for the treatment of sickle cell, is used in many first world countries such as the UK, however in underdeveloped countries, sickle cell disease still records for high mortality rates.

On the other hand, allocating resources for disease prevention is of significant importance, especially in underdeveloped countries. Funds can be allocated towards illness prevention. Allocation of mosquito nets, for instance, to all residents in a nation for reducing malaria prevalence in a country, can be beneficial. For example, Nigeria which is a malaria endemic nation, implements this strategy because of its low economic state and high death rates. Additionally health education thought in schools, would also sharpen learners knowledge on the causes and prevention of diseases. I strongly support this view, because preventing sicknesses from occurring by implementing these strategies is better than treatments which may not be guaranteed.

In conclusion, in spite of the benefits that comes from researches and implementing treatment, I believe that encouraging preventive measures such as funds allocation and health education is more crucial.