Providing that the programmrs are good quality, TV can offer many benefits to children. Do you agree or disagree? Why?

Provided that the content is appropriate, television can contribute significantly and bring some merits to children’s development. I moderately agree with this statement, as television content highly affects children’s mental understanding and upbringing.

The primary reason why I agree with this tendency is that young individuals are considered to behave similarly to their favourite characters often seen in cartoons or movies. This can be attributed to the fact that these illustrated characters from TV programmes become role models for children from a young age. In addition, this influences children’s upbringing and development significantly, alongside parental influence. A good illustration of this would be situations in various families, where children tend to imitate their idols’ actions, personalities, and styles. Consequently, it is recommended for children’s television programmes to present positive role models for young viewers to follow, as it contributes highly to children’s development from an early age.

The second, equally significant argument is that television programmes also influence a lot of children’s worldwide understanding. Children may acquire knowledge from educational programmes. Furthermore, in a modern world, its various types of content contributes considerably, as they broaden their horizons and develop critical thinking to a large extent. For instance, this can be observed in countries such as China, where educational television programmes are widespread and may play a crucial role in supporting children’s intellectual development alongside formal education. As a result, we should consider China as an example to enhance the content which we provide for children’s development.

In conclusion, television content highly contributes to children’s development from an early age, so we should be careful about what media content our children consume. I firmly believe that, if we control the digital content that is provided to children, we will prevent the use of materials that have a detrimental effect on development.