Public libraries should provide books and not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or Dvds. Do you agree or disagree?

Many public libraries try to allocate more funds to expand the number of books instead of installing high-tech media, such as software, videos, and DVDs, as this type of media can distract other readers and could be used for wrong purposes. Personally, I disagree with this view.

On the one hand, individuals usually visit libraries in order to escape the high noise pollution in their cities and read their books in a peaceful environment. If we install high-tech media that often produces loud noise in the libraries, the only remaining quiet place will disappear, which makes it difficult for people to read their books. Many young people may also utilize it for the wrong purposes, not to obtain more knowledge in libraries because they might be restricted from doing so at home. For example, they may watch various streams of well-known gamers on YouTube or chat with their friends on various social sites.

On the other hand, fewer and fewer citizens visit libraries because many of them do not install modern technologies to preserve their ancient traditions. However, the main aim of libraries is to help people obtain knowledge more easily. In this way, they should have to renounce their old traditions and install modern devices that allow individuals to easily find any book and information with a single click. As a result, more and more people who do not have access to modern devices and heard about the changes in libraries are likely to visit libraries in order to obtain more information.

In conclusion, although providing only books can be a part of libraries’ traditions, I do not believe they have to abuse their responsibilities to preserve their traditions.