Q. Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of the trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent days, an increasing number of individuals are opting to have children at a later age. This tendency could be explained by some reasons and I suppose that its disadvantages overshadow its advantages.

There are several reasons why many couples choose to have children later. To begin with, the cost of living has increased, making it more difficult for parents to afford the expenses related to having children, such as healthcare, and education. Moreover, couples can focus on their work since they do not have to worry about nurturing their children. This will help them to develop their career paths, including a stable career and financial security.

While this trend can offer both negative and positive aspects, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. On the one hand, by postponing childbirth, parents will be happier since instead of spending time on taking care of their children, they can use it to enjoy life and spend more time for themselves, such as travelling, and beautifying. On the other hand, when an aged couple decides to give birth, there are serious health risks for the woman and their children because the mother’s health is often not as good as when she was younger. For instance, according to the recommendation of the Ministry of Health, women having children after the age of 35 might face several problems, such as miscarriage and premature birth.

In conclusion, the phenomenon of having children at a later age is caused by a number of factors. Although there are several advantages to the decision to delay childbirth, I still believe that the downsides are more considerable.