Q. Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of the trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, many young couples decide to have babies later. It was believed that some were devoting their time to a career and wanting to become fully mature before becoming parents. And this decision might bring about some significant advantages for themselves and their offspring in the future.

There are some reasons why young adults delay giving birth. Firstly, in order to gain more success in their future careers, some young couples have no choice but to sacrifice being parents in place of dedicating their time, energy, and effort to their jobs. This means that after many years of working diligently and making a living, they will have financial stability, which would ensure a better life for their children. Secondly, by having a baby later, the young couple will have enough time to make thorough preparations for becoming good parents. In fact, they will be fully mature, both physically and mentally, by the age of 30, helping them nurture their offspring better.

However, it is undeniable that giving birth late gives rise to some health problems for mothers and their children. In fact, women who are over the age of 30 are more likely to be dangerous during the period of pregnancy and giving birth; even their children’s health will be affected.

Due to some negative influences on mothers and their babies’ health, I still believe that choosing to give birth late in life is an informed option, resulting in some significant benefits. Since this decision assists young couples to establish a solid foundation for their career paths and have more responsibility for raising their offspring, it guarantees a better life for their children in the long run.