Q. Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of the trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary era, there has been an upward trend that individuals or couples do not want to have children earlier in their life. This essay will discuss some remarkable reasons for this trend, along with noticeable merits that I believe outweigh demerits.

To begin with, having children earlier causes financial constraints on their parents. In other words, parents have to invest lots of their money on loads of goods, ranging from clothes for babies, expenses for healthcare services, etc to ensure their children are taken care fully. For those who were born in wealthy families, they have all-rounded services which help them develop better. That is not true for those who were born in poor families because their parents evenly suffer a big debt to nurture and educate children. Another reason is that people want to pursue career development. Having their children means that people have to give up everything, especially women who spend at least six months staying at home for the purpose of nurturing babies. As a result, when they return to work, there is likely no opportunities for them to be promoted in their job, leading them to stress.

Therefore, having children serves as a good calculation for couples to prepare effectively.

In conclusion, people chose to have children later due to financial factors and career development. That plays a pivotal way for parents to prepare fully for all factors, to bring better for their children.