RAPID PROGRESS IN THE FIELDS OF GENETICS AND GENE THERAPY IS LIKELY TO HAVE PROFOUND EFFECTS ON PEOPLE'S LIVES IN THE FORESEEABLE FUTURE. By altering people's genetic makeup, IT MAY BE POSSIBLE FOR DOCTORS TO CURE HEREDITARY DISEASES, AND FOR PARENTS TO CHOOSE IMPORTANT CHARACTERISTICS FOR THEIR CHILDREN, SUCH AS THEIR SEX OR LEVEL OF INTELLIGENCE. SUCH A DEVELOPMENT WOULD BE A MAJOR BREAKTHROUGH FOR HUMANITY AND WOULD SOLVE MANY PRESENT-DAY PROBLEMS. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

It is debated that gene therapy is likely to have many positive effects, such as the treatment of congenital diseases and variations in human genes. Though there are some reservations about its productivity. I do believe that it’s worth incorporating into human life to leverage its potential.

On the one hand, admittedly, genetic and gene therapy may have imperative effects on human lives. Firstly, it is claimed that gene therapy may cure newborn crippling diseases by altering some innovation in the genomic sequence. This may optimize the biodiversity of human genes as well as eradicate the neonatal fatalities. Secondly, it is argued that by striking genetic technology, many new parents may positively temper in their newborn characteristics, such as eyes, hair, and skin color, according to their own wishes and in extreme cases, gender as well. Lastly but not least, several governments wish to utilize this technology to promote a supergene nation, which may be superior to all other human classifications.

On the other hand, critics argue that it is unjustifiable to alter in human gene by their guardians without the consent of their children. This may breach human rights policy. In fact, some professors are afraid that this technology is still in its infancy. Therefore, by implementing this treatment for hereditary diseases, it might have devastating consequences rather than being beneficial. Another question that is frequently raised about the government’s involvement in advancing a superhuman race by instilling this discovery is that several circumstances, such as genetic and environmental factors, are responsible for constructing human personality. The state may not merely impose gene therapy in terms of producing their favorable super race.

In conclusion, although there are some concerns about injecting this technology into human creation, I do believe that in the long run, its advantages far outweigh the drawbacks. By introducing this technology in the human era, especially by eradicating the congenital and fatal diseases, as well as producing a highly intellectual generation, may alleviate the challenges of mankind and foster the life expectancy of population.