school should not force children to learn a foreign language. to what extent do you agree with this statement?

Educational institutions ought not to make kids study additional language as the majority of them can not study it. I partially disagree with this notion owing to the fact that learning an extra language will benefit them both in short and in the long-term; however, on some occasions children can have psychological problems

The most important consideration is the fact that learning a second language makes children more successful in the present. This is because they will have access to more information, which in turn, will have a positive effect on their academic performance. As well as this, juveniles who know more than one language are more likely to have a better outlook, since they face diverse information about nations and cultures. For instance, the recent research in the media highlighted that bilingual kids have better scores and generally higher IQ.

In the same vein, another cogent reason why I disagree with this notion is that knowing an extra language will have a positive influence on children’s future. The main reason for believing that they will have a better education as they will not have any language barriers and will be able to easily enter a university abroad. As well as this, bilingual kids will have more career opportunities in the future since they can work for different international companies and have higher salaries. To illustrate, recent research suggests that bilinguals tend to have higher wages than those who only know just one language.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposite case. It is often argued that in fact forcing children to learn another language can lead to mental traumas. People often have this opinion because children will be afraid of this negative experience and not only they will not learn a new language, but also they will lose their motivation to study other subjects. For instance, psychologists always say that it is incorrect to force children to do something.

In conclusion, although on some occasions, children may experience stress, I believe that schools need to oblige them to learn a new language since it will benefit them both in present day and in their future life.