Schools should put more emphasis on sport and exercise, while others believe that schools should focus on science subjects. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There has been much debate whether schools should focus more on science subjects (such as Math, Biology or Chemistry), or improve their presence at sports and physical exercise. This essay aims to discuss both points of view.

A growing number of people today reveals the necessity of changing schools towards a new approach: children shall not spend lots of time indoors learning theoretical materials they may never use in real life, but rather spend it outdoors improving their wellbeing, social connections and physical strength. Undoubtedly, this initiative from parents has good intentions for their kids and the goals are pretty clear: improving emotional intelligence, social presence and real-life skills instead of an academic approach.

There is, however, another point to be considered. The main aim of school is to provide a new member of our society with all types of necessary information about the world. This includes looking into common things from various points of view. Thanks to physics we know that the table is standing because there’s a gravity force applied to it. Thanks to chemistry, we understand that it is made from carbon, joined into various organic molecules. And thanks to history, we can find out that exactly the same table was the one used to sign an agreement between two countries hundreds of years ago. In my opinion, academic subjects in school are crucial elements of education, to help develop thinking from different perspectives, get a professional orientation and later improve your knowledge in a one, particular field. The education must not be limited, but rather be as diverse and broad as possible.

In conclusion, sports and exercise is something that needs attention in school, but is definitely not a cornerstone for it. It is rather an additional value, additional point of view that may be considered by a child, giving him or her a new experience. Some people may fall in love with football games, while others choose astronomy as a matter of life. And we cannot infringe on both of these points.