Scientific research should be funded by governments rather than commercial organizations. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

There exists a viewpoint that governments, other than profit-oriented enterprises, should be the entity responsible for grants of scientific research. Although commercial companies can alleviate fiscal strains on governments, I mostly agree with this notion as governments prioritize public welfare and offer more consistent funding schemes.

The first explanation for my advocacy to government funding based on the primary aim across two said parties. Particularly, governments mainly focus on the benefits of society as a whole, whereas commercial companies prioritize financial returns. Consequently, instead of upholding the integrity of the objectivity, organizations may introduce bias to influence the course of the research to align with their interests.

Another justification for my agreement is the stability of government. Indeed, government funding programs often provide more stable and continuous support compared to commercial ones, which may fluctuate based on profit margins, market conditions or simply changes in corporate structure. For instance, numerous vaccination projects of the Vietnam Research Institute of Biotechnology had been halted after the bankruptcy of its parent company, a large pharmaceutical company.

Admittedly, fundings from commercial companies may alleviate the burden for governments. Specifically, by sharing the responsibility of investing in scientific research and development, organizations can contribute significant capital to bear and reduce burden on governments. With their assistance, additional funds will be available for governments to address other pressing societal issues, such as poverty or unemployment.

In conclusion, despite the fact that commercial companies’ funding for scientific research may lighten economic pressure for governments, I predominantly contend that this kind of research should be sponsored by governments, since they prioritize the public interest and provide more stable funding programs. Ideally, a partnership of government and commercial funding can provide a balanced approach, leveraging the strengths of both sectors and optimizing the final results.