Scientific research should be funded by governments rather than commercial organizations. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

There exists a viewpoint that governments, rather than profit-oriented enterprises, should be entity responsible for grants of scientific research. Although commercial companies can alleviate fiscal strains on state budget, I mainly concur on the notion as governments prioritise public welfare and offer consistent funding schemes.

The first explanation for my advocacy of government funding is based on primary aim of the two parties said. Particularly, governments focus on the benefits of society as a whole, whereas commercial companies just pay attention to financial returns. Consequently, instead of sustaining the integrity of the objectivity, oganisations may introduce the bias influence the course of the research to align with their interests.

Another justification for my agreement is the stability of government sponsorship. Fundings from the governments are more stable compared to commercial ones, which may fluctuate based on profit margins, maket conditions or simply changes in corporate structure. A compelling example is that numerous vaccination projects of the VietNam Research Institute of Biotechnology were halted after the bankrupcy of its parent company, a large pharmaceutical company

Admittedly, fundings from commercial companies may alleviate the burden on governments. Specifically, by sharing the responsibility of investing in scientific research and development, organisations can contribute significant capital instead of authorities. With their assistance, additional funds will be available for governments to address other pressing issues such as poverty or unemployment.

In conclusion, despite the fact that commercial oganisations’ funding for scientific research may lighten the economic pressures for governments, I predominantly contend that this kind of research should be sponsored by governments, since they prioritize public interest and provide more consistent funding programs. Ideally, a partnership of government and commercial funding can provide a balanced approach, leveraging the strengths of both sectors and optimizing the final results.