Scientists predict that all people will choose to talk the same global language in the future. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Language is a system that humans use to communicate within various nations or communities. Given how vast the world is, multivarious languages exist. Numerous scientists predict that in the future humans will eventually use only a single language as the global language. While the usage of universal language might give us many conveniences, it is also important to consider the side effects of relying on one singular language for humanity.

On one hand, to be able to communicate on a global scale will give us many advantages, because using a single language could unite gaps between diverse societies, allowing us to have more access to global related information and collaborate even more effectively in such fields, such as business, science, and political diplomacy. These would lead us to innovate more ideas and build an advanced civilization.

On the other hand, the adoption of using a global language has its own disadvantages, such as the diminishing value of cultural diversity. Humanity will lose many of their unique cultural heritage, because language is not only a way to communicate, but it is one of the roots for a culture and tradition.

To conclude, while the prospects of using a single universal language offers us numerous benefits, such as the enhancement of communication and collaboration, it also drawbacks our cultural diversity. A universal language would make us united, and with the unity of societies, it costs our diverse culture to erosion because a language is also crucial for maintaining our different and unique heritages.