Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

Shopping is very popular among the majority of the population, despite their age or social standards. This is due to the fact that most people find shopping as an experience which makes a difference in their day to day life. Some people find themselves in a different world surrounded by various material things which they may or may not be able to purchase. Even if they are not able to finance these, they find much pleasure in looking and feeling these things and imagining owning them some day. Some people go shopping when they really want to purchase things and they prefer to look around and compare the prices before buying them. I think most people love to go shopping because then they could meet friends, make contacts with people and get to know what is in the latest trend. It provides them a pleasant distraction from their routine and sometimes dull life.

The most important effect shopping has on an individual is that it nourishes the self-esteem. An individual may find the social contact most gratifying and this makes people come out of their shells and be more extrovert. Purchasing something, as well as knowing that you are financially able to purchase something give more self confidence to people.

The increase in popularity to go shopping has many effects on the society. People may be encouraged to go into new businesses and it will improve the economy. More job opportunities will be created for people in these businesses. Encouraged by the increase of popularity manufacturers will try to improve their products, so that the consumers can have a wide range of products at competitive prices. The overall quality of the product as well as the services provided by the sales staff will be improved.

More job opportunities will be created in advertising as the manufacturers try to sell their product. Consumers will have a better knowledge of the product so that they will not be mislead by inferior quality products.

I find shopping an interesting and pleasurable experience, as each year passes by, simply because it enriches my heart and mind.