Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

“Shopping is an addiction.” This was the quotation I have seen and witnessed in my life. People will not always be happy, some situations make a person sad, angry or frustrated, but there is a solution that applies to anyone to make them happy that is shopping.

Shopping isn’t just about clothes; it spans vast categories like groceries, medicines, furniture, and electronics. As technology rises the shopping has become more efficient, it is just fingertips away. People don’t have to go to long distances or search in a variety of stores; with online shopping, users can buy using technology. This made many people use it for instant deliveries or to tackle an emergency situation.

This not only benefited users but also increased the scope for online service companies to flourish in the market and to increase sales. People can explore their interests via social media, Pinterest and shop for those items by just searching for them. This leads to the wide use of shopping, which has become a leisure activity for many.

This has its perks as well as drawbacks, such as fake applications and fake products that cause financial loss and security problems. I have faced a similar scam where I lost 5000 and reported it many times, but there wasn’t proper action that took place on these fake apps.

So, I conclude by saying shopping is popular as it is accessible to people across the world and can be mentally pleasing while also being economical and increasing a country’s GDP.