Shopping used to be a routine domestic task in the past. However, today, it has become more of a hobby. Is this a positive trend?

For many individuals, shopping has become a hobby these days while, it used to be a daily activity during the olden days. In my opinion, shopping has it’s own pros and cons and I will elaborate further on this topic below.

While, shopping is considered to be a fun activity for most of the individuals, it is just a chore for some of them. In the past, it was considered to be a task for people as they had to spend some amount from their expenses for shopping to meet their basic needs and requirements. For instance, people had to walk for long distances to buy groceries and clothes. Whereas, in this modern era, shopping has become a pastime for majority of the people. As the platform for online shopping arose, it has become more convenient for humans to spend their free time scrolling on shopping websites.

On the other hand, door-step delivery has made a person’s life easier, as it saves both their time and energy. Shopping more frequently leads to an addiction known as compulsive buying disorder. This, in turn, results in loss as they may have to face financial crisis and debt. For example, people who desire to buy all that they wish for, would end up spending more than required and will have financial burden. Although, shopping is considered to be a stress buster for few of them as it alleviates the mood and releases happy hormones- endorphins. Thus, it boosts their mental health and refreshes their mind and body, as there is some amount of physical activity involved in going from one shop to another.

To conclude, shopping is not only meant to perform routine domestic task, but it also lifts the mood and has become more easy and convenient in the modern era. Meanwhile, the expenditure on shopping has to be under control, which, otherwise, would lead to financial disaster.