Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is known that education plays a vital role in societal development and continuity. In my opinion, in order to achieve a better future, general knowledge as well as specific knowledge in diverse fields is required.

Firstly, it is really important from a young age to teach students basic skills in different fields for their character’s development. Provided that they haven’t still matured, it is impossible for them to decide about the classes they should choose. However, as they get older, adolescents can gradually start thinking about their areas of interest and specialization. When they reach an older age, they would have covered many subjects and would have a collective image of each one of them, even though they might be uncertain about their picks. Councelors’ job is to help them realize which is the suitable career path to pursue.

Despite the fact that all classes are crucial, it is reasonable to mention that after a certain age, students must be given the opportunity to choose the lessons to attend and especially those which align with their preferences. For their entry to their preferred university, only exams on specific classes are needed. Spending time studying for irrelevant subjects won’t provide any benefits, but on the other hand it would mean the loss of time studying for their final exams. Therefore, gaining much more knowledge in the area that would be precious for their future career and jobs, would increase their possibilities in success.

To summarise, all classes are undoubtfully significant for someone’s education. However, as the age increases, the subject concerning the lessons should be in favor of the student’s preferences.