Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public heath, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking in public has been a major concern due to the effect of it on the user and to the people around. Therefore, I do believe that serious actions need to be taken from the government or the damage will be irreversible.

Firstly, applying a ban on cigarettes or any tobacco products might attract new consumers due to curiosity, especially since some people think it is cool to try illegal products. For example, when cigarettes were still consumed without any regulation, people would not really pay attention and treat cigarettes just like any other products. However, a ban will raise public attention to the product and unintentionally help cigarettes to gain new customers so a suitable approach is needed.

On the other hand, public health and public safety overall would be better since people no longer dare to smoke in front of others in public. This would reduce the amount of lung cancer caused by inhaling smoke from cigarette users, as well as reduce the amount of cigarettes consumed. For instance, any public location such as coffee shops, malls or bus stops no longer has any smokers which would keep the atmosphere fresh and clean. Furthermore, a ban would prevent children from consuming cigarettes when they grow up, since children are very influenceable so a ban would make them aware that smoking is wrong. For example, children tend to follow behavior from adults, so if they no longer are surrounded with cigarette consumers it would prevent them from doing that action.

In conclusion, the advantages of banning cigarettes outweigh the disadvantage. Personally, I do believe that cigarettes and other tobacco products should not be consumed widely without any regulations. Also, increasing public health holds more weight than letting smokers satisfy their craving.