Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public heath, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, smoking is the primary cause of lung disease, cancer, and heart problems. Some people believe that governments should ban cigarettes and all tobacco products to protect public health while others object. In my opinion, I completely agree with this viewpoint that all tobacco products or nicotine should be banned.

Cigarettes contain many carcinogens like nicotine, tar and formaldehyde. Smoke cigarettes have detrimental effects on children, pregnant women and the surroundings. . Every year many people get lung cancer, heart disease due to the harmful effects of tobacco .

Moreover, every year tobacco costs the world economy billions of dollars. Our society is facing ever-increasing medical expenses due to the harmful effects of smoking. The money for solving the consequences of cigarettes are at a high rate compared to that of medical or education, which is an alarming phenomenon. Spending on cigarettes reduces living expenses especially for low income families. In these households , the money for cigarettes is even higher than the amount spent on education or healthcare costs. If they give up smoking, they will have more money to buy food or spend on education.

Tobacco not only has detrimental effects on human health but also impacts on the environment. Cigarette smoke contains more than four thousands chemicals, most of which are hazardous chemicals including nicotine and nickel. Furthermore, tobacco production contributes to rising deforestation, particularly in developing nations. Many forests have been destroyed to plant tobacco, which has contributed to global warming.

Smoking is harmful to society, therefore governments should ban tobacco in order to improve community health.