Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public heath, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. Do you agree or disagree?

A vital cause of serious diseases and decease, nowadays, is smoking. Some people think the governments should restrict nicotine and tobacco products, while others would disagree with this decision. Personally, I support the idea of banning cigarettes, especially for teenagers. In the next paragraphs I am going to discuss both sides of this subject.

From the one side, cigarettes existed for a long time ago and it would be a little bit strange to restrict people not to smoke by now, as long as people are addicted to nicotine, and they find smoking as a way of clearing their minds after a hard day, or to unwind, while being alone or with some friends or colleagues. Moreover, smoking is said to be a method of escaping from reality and negative emotions. For example, my father smokes every time something bothers him, especially if it is something about his workplace or his workforce, even though his awareness understands that smoking is prone to affect his health enormously, by causing heart diseases or breathing problems.

From the other side, smoking must be banned for teenagers. I am mostly concerned about this generation’s trends of buying E-cigarettes, vapes and IQOS, because they think it is cool to smoke and tend to appear mature at an early age. Their peers influence each other, they give one another to try it, and because vapes have different fruit tastes, for example grape, blueberry and more, teenagers are getting interested and buy these technologies. In my school, there are a lot of pupils who smoke. I find it a very harmful addiction for my generation because it might have disastrous consequences, such as cancer, heart palpitations, severe headaches, tiredness and inability to concentrate at school now, and at work in the future.

To sum up, officials should not neglect this contemporary problem as it is important to grow up in a healthy and responsible society, with clear understanding about what is the best for our emotional and professional successes, with a stable and thriving future.