Some argue that people should always prioritize their own happiness, whereas others believe society functions best when people sacrifice for others. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, some people believe that individuals should always focus on their own contentment, while others argue that sacrificing for others is more essential for a functioning superior society. In this essay I will discuss both perspectives, but I personally believe that helping others is more beneficial than caring about yourself.

On the one hand, there are some benefits of focusing on their own happiness because it improves mental health and personal fulfilment. First of all, when individuals always think and care about themselves, they actually bring many benefits to their health and they feel both emotionally and mentally good. Moreover, I believe that when people feel happy and cheerful they actually think in a more productive way and feel motivated and encouraged. In addition, when people feel happy they also spend more time on their hobbies, such as they may travel to other countries than normal people who usually spend their time on their profession.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that people should also help each other and by this way society may function better. It is true that when people start to help people by carrying out simple tasks they may subsequently build relationships which helps them to spend their time in a positive way. Furthermore, nowadays many people are helping each other, for instance, teachers help students in everyday life by teaching, advising, and encouraging them to learn something effectively. From my perspective, when people sacrifice themselves to others in a positive way, it would definitely also bring benefits to society.

To conclude, although people want to pay attention to their contentment, I believe that helping each other may be more productive and efficient to society. I consider that it also helps people to be more polite and sociable.