Social media is changing the way we appreciate art. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In recent years it has been observed that the way people appreciate art is changing. As social media has made the art much more prevalent, giving artists wider reach and recognition for their art, I believe that it is a positive development.

One of the ways in which social media has shifted how people view art is by providing a platform where art can be showcased. Thus, it provides wider recognition of the artistic skills. For example, platforms such as Instagram provide artists an opportunity to showcase their content, which can be viewed by millions of people online. Consequently, the more the reach, the higher the appreciation of their arts.

Furthermore, social media not only facilitates larger reach, but it also encourages others to demonstrate their artistic talent. When people saw art online on digital platforms, they themselves would want to create that art. For instance, many times when a song trends on Facebook, people often try to sing that song themselves in their voice and then post it. As a result, individuals not only appreciate the arts but also create them.

In conclusion, social media has changed the way people appreciate art by providing a platform for the artists to display their art. Nevertheless, this widespread appreciation of art has also resulted in people involving themselves in art. Thus, art is becoming increasingly acknowledged and valued. Therefore, it is definitely a positive trend.