Social media platforms should take more responsibility in regulating the content shared on their networks. Do you agree or disagree?

Social media platforms are overloaded with a variety of data that has positive and negative effects on society and individuals. Considering the negative influence of such content, it has been advised that social media platforms should take control of the shared data. I agree with this statement as negative data on social media websites influence various people’s thought processes. In this essay, I will provide a detailed overview to support my notion.

To commence with, the primary reason to regulate the topics shared on social media is to avoid the negative consequences of some topics. The misinformation, hate speech, negative comments, and inappropriate videos consumed by a wide range of audiences can have harmful impacts on society. As consumers start following the path of data creators by getting inspired or influenced by them which can create a vulnerable atmosphere. For instance, misinformation provided about a health concern can disturb the audience’s mindset.

Furthermore, eliminating the negative and misinformation content can make these platforms positive and trustworthy. Social media provides different information about one topic which sometimes leaves the consumers in dilemma about wrong and right. If these platforms take ownership of the available data then consumers can confidently receive the provided information. Additionally, the positive data type will not only help to decrease the toxicity but also, improve the overall user experience by making a respectful online environment.

In conclusion, to control the negative influence and to create a positive environment online, social networks should be accountable for the type of content shared on these platforms.