Some argue that teachers should focus on academics more than motivating students. Do you agree or disagree?

Opinions diverge about what factors teachers should emphasize. Some say that they need to prioritize academics rather than giving motivations. Personally, I believe that both matter in improving the performance of students.

There are numerous benefits to concentrating on academics. Firstly, motivation is not simply enough to encourage students to achieve desired knowledge. Motivation can work as a temporary stimulation for studying, but it often ends when one loses interest in doing something. Consistency is key in any work or study. People who focus on their literacy spend more time learning, which results in bigger gains in the future. Besides, motivation can work the other way around; instead of inspiring students, it may lead to frustration or even giving up on their aims. People who are motivated do things on a whim without realizing the actual meaning or purpose of their work. The phrase “there was a student who succeeded in their academics and you can do better” creates the belief that students need to do better to fulfill the expectations of teachers. When they try to accomplish this in a short time and it does not turn out well, they may get disappointed in themselves, which brings them to the assumption that they are not capable of doing anything.

However, despite the fact that motivation can have its downsides, it also comes with its strengths. For instance, students who have been studying any subject for a long period may get bored and lose the willingness to study. At these times, motivation from their teachers can help to bring them into consciousness and remind them about their goals. Motivation is a truly powerful tool in inspiring people if it is used in the right way. Teachers who praise their students constantly help them to recognize the progress which they have made so far; it helps them to stay more engaged and fulfilled compared to those who have not been praised for their efforts. Just a small sentence like “you are doing better” can be everlasting, which can even keep them going till the end.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that motivation is essential in any work. Overlooking its potential benefits is a huge waste, while preserving its measure is a valuable gain, as it helps students to stay motivated and active all the time. Finding a golden mean between motivation and studying promotes balanced study conditions.