Some believe that people today have no interest in maintaining the traditional culture of their country or region. Others believe that it is still important to people that we preserve a traditional way of life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Globalisation, despite having a lot of benefits, has brought up some challenges. One of them is maintaining traditional cultures which many seem to be indefferent towards while others view preserving it as a national responsibility.

The first group believes that it is the younger generation who is losing their interest in their own culture and has no plans for saving these traditions for the next generation. They often point out the fact that elements of the globalised lifestyle, for instance the Internet and social media, have had the biggest influence by exposing people to diverse cultures often leading them to adopting aspects of different cultures and forgetting their own. Moreover, the believe nowadays that immigrating and traveling to foreign countries have become more common, changing and adapting to other cultures is an inevitable fact in order for them to survive.

However, others are of the opinion that a person’s culture and beliefs are shaped and defined by their country of origin and although everyone is exposed to different cultures throughout the day, it’s minor influence can never change one’s roots. These people are eager to save their own culture and traditions. For example they always carry out and share their traditional practices such as festivals, rituals, and stories passed to them by the older generations in different events and ceremonies. They also say that each country is known by its particular arts and crafts and culture and one can ever escape their origin.

In my opinion, while embracing cultural exchange is pretty essential, we should always preserve our own culture and keep a healthy balance between progress and heritage.