Some believe that people today have no interest in maintaining the traditional culture of their country or region. Others believe that it is still important to people that we preserve a traditional way of life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people hold the view that sticking to a country’ customs and traditions is important as it represents the history of a particular region. Other people point out that it is not necessary as it does not offer great benefits. Personally, I am tilted towards the prior group, but in the next paragraphs I am going to present this issue from different standpoints.

People, who support the idea of keeping the customs and, sometimes, following a traditonal lifestyle claim that it is beneficial, as it gives foreigneers a better understanding of a country. It is true that every country has its unique customs and people can actually take advantage of it by attracting tourists from all over the world. In other words, orgnanising various “ethnical” festival-like activities, for instance, Ukrainian way of celebration Christmas called “Vechornytsi” can attract people from different countries. That will allow them to connect with the mentality of Ukrainians better and, therefore, establish stronger relationship between cultures and their people.

Another important aspect of preserving a country’s traditions is that each culture has been largely affected by history. This means that knowing about a country’s customs involves being aknowledged with the history of the region. For this reason, by encouraging people to stick to the country’s customs, more people could potentially become interested in the history of the region they live in. As a result, intelligent society, united by traditions, can develop a strong national spirit which is crucially important to each country.

Opponets of these ideas state that living as their ancestors lived many years ago is pointless as not only does it not offer great material benefits, but it is also weird and not taken too seriously by other people. What I mean by that is they would rather fit in the modern society whose standarts include following the latest trends instead of being “traditional”. This explains why some people who point out at the importance of traditions are often referred to as freaks by the majority.

Taking everything into consideration, it should be mentioned that maintaining a way of living, simillar to our ancestors’ one, is a great way to unite citizens of one country and different peoples, however, it is still not understood enough by a great number of people. As for me, I tend to believe that the positives outweigh the negatives at this point.