Some believe that people today have no interest in maintaining the traditional culture of their country or region. Others believe that it is still important to people that we preserve a traditional way of life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is argued that people in the modern world pay little attention to their roots and fail to maintain the memory of their homeland’s past. However, there is also an opinion that saving the culture and traditions of one’s country of origin is vital for their lifestyle as it keeps a sense of belonging to society. This essay will discuss both points of view and will come to a conclusion that the balance between the common way of life and the emerging changes in the tastes of youth.

On the one hand, globalization has already reshaped societies in most countries and pushed lots of traditions back to the countryside, leaving people in big cities without a desire to feel connected to their roots. This means that the younger generation doesn’t feel the necessity of keeping the way of life their grandparents showed. Moreover, the increasing pace of life even in towns makes people uninterested in following the time-consuming traditions of their predecessors. For instance, small towns and villages in the Moscow region of Russia are now connected to the Internet, or at least to television, and people spend less time visiting friends nowadays preferring to watch TV instead.

On the other hand, many people still believe that preserving traditions helps to keep the society in its original form. In fact, the heritage of our parents and grandparents was built on important historical events, and in order to learn from their experience, young people should be able to understand the circumstances of those years. In addition, the issue of national identification can be addressed by organizing cultural-oriented events for performing folk music or showing other local traditions of the area. For example, there are lots of festivals taking place in the center of Moscow that describe how the life of different cultures within Russia has changed over the last centuries.

In conclusion, even though modern people care less about their ancestors, lots of persons concerned continue to promote tradition culture in order to maintain the unity of society. In my opinion, there should be a balance between preserving the legacy and moving forward in development to achieve sustainable growth in all spheres of life.