Some believe that the commercialization and uniformity of music lead to a loss of cultural identity. However, others argue that globalisation and the spread of popular music have facilitated cultural exchange and helped to promote understanding and tolerance between different communities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are two contravaraiant opinions about commercialization and uniformity of music: some believe that it lead to loss of cultural identity, but others argue that it helps to promote understanding and tolerance between different communities. As for me, I agree with the first opinion. I believe that music and other creative industries should not be commercialized.

Firstly, It is a fact that nowadays many famous musicians can earn significiant amount of money with their music. There are a lot of sources: advertising, TV shows, merchandising etc. So, we can say that the music is becoming a kind of business. However, I am confident that the business kills the cultural identity, because the only purpose of it is getting money.

Secondly, the globalisation reduce the amout of local musicians. People in local communities may lose a cultural connection to each other because of following some global trends. In case of this, it is too difficult to become popular in your, for instance, country nowadays, while everyone has access to any music from all over the world.

However, I agree that globalisation has advantages also. For example, it allows independent musicians to find their local community too, especially if they make some special music which is not the most popular.

To sum up, there are some advantages and disadvantages of commercialization and uniformity of music and its globalisation. I agree with some of them, but personally I believe that it is not so good for musical culture.