Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

This essay said that many countries develop infrastructure to train professional sportsperson, which help them to reach global recognition. Whereas, I believe that is negative, governments must invest in pubic sports facilities due to increase equality and discover talent in the wider population.

Government by spending to improve sports facilities only for elite athletes, it can brings some gap between athletes and general population. On the other words that means increase social inequality by only the elite benefit from government funding. For example, having Olympic achievement in China, they are allocate resources to high-performance training centers, which leads to the public have an unequal access to facilities. While elite facilities boosts international medals, they serves only a minority. Neglect of public sports access not only worsens health, but also increases inequality.

Furthermore, many talented youth among poorer backgrounds may be excluded due to lack of access. Misses out on talent discovery in the general public. If countries just offer these facilities to rich people, many talented sportsperson would be disappointed to achieve their goals. For instance, a teenager has a dream to be a well-known in body building, but he or she live in rural area, it is far away from city which offers wide range of recreational sports facilities, so it causes some mental diseases by gives up on his or her dream. By development from grassroots levels, younger people, who may never access to specialized facilities, could get their aim and it gives them well-being and mental health.

In conclusion, although it is essential that providing high-quality gym and facilities for training athletes, it is critical that government should invest in public sports infrastructure that everyone can use it. due to that it brings equality access to facilities and nurtures young talent.