Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

Currently, in order to help sports players achieve success in the international sports competition, some countries prefer to allocate more money to build facilities designed for training top athletes instead of providing sports facilities for common people. I believe that it has detrimental effects on the nations.

Admittedly, it is necessary for countries to train professional players. Constructing more devices specialized for athletes could serve to maintain their performances. In order to defeat others in international games such as the Olympic Games, countries, even after gaining a lot of golden medals, countries need to guarantee that athletes could perform better in the future. As a result, it is natural and reasonable for governments to fund their players and offer them better equipment and devices.

However, the concentration of resources on elite athletes often comes at the expense of broader sporting development programs that could benefit a wider audience. People nowadays are accustomed to sedentary lifestyle and stressful learning and working conditions, which lead to many health problems such as obesity and depression. If governments provide more facilities in the community, people, especially children are more likely to get involved in physical activities, thus improving health. More importantly, there would be more excellent athletes in the future if public health is improved.

Although it is essential for countries to train athletes and provide them with more specialized facilities, it does not mean they do not need to pay attention to individual health. Personally speaking, countries should give priority to providing the public with sports facilities.