Some people believe that English, as a global language, should be the only language used for international communication. Others argue that relying solely on English threatens linguistic diversity and cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the view that English should be the sole language of global communication?

For years, the English language has been declared the only language that can be used as a global language as an international bridge for communication. I agree with this statement. The two reasons that support my overview are, first, the English language can be a medium or a bridge for communication among different countries and nations; second, despite English being a global language, people still need to elevate their national language as the main or core language as well, especially in education, to keep the linguistic and cultural diversity.

In my opinion, the English language can be a global language for communication among the different countries because, in fact, some people find some difficulties when they try to communicate with some expats or some tourists that come from different countries or when people visit one of the countries in Asia, such as China; they will put themselves in big trouble if there is not an international language since they know zero Mandarin. However, they still need English as a global language.

However, even if English is used as a communication language in many international schools, students are still obligated to learn their native language. For instance, many multinational schools in Indonesia put Bahasa Indonesia and Indonesian culture as the subject of the curriculum. This helps people to keep preserving the culture of the country while still using English as the platform to learn it.

In conclusion, the people still need English as a global language to communicate with people from different countries. On the other side, they still should conserve and elevate their own national language as a core language in their country and keep the linguistic and cultural diversity.