Some people believe that everyone should have equal access to education and job opportunities, while others think that this is impossible to achieve in reality.Why is it difficult to ensure equal opportunities for all? Do you think governments should try to achieve this?

It is widely discussed whether it is possible to provide equal and fair job and education opportunities for everyone. One group claims that it is achievable, whereas others believe that it is impossible. The difficulty of providing equal access to career and education is mainly attributed to the individuals’ bias and beliefs while hiring, as well as different financial challenges or general inequality. As far as I am concerned, governments should provide free education, but do not control the job market.

The issue of providing fair opportunities for all can be attributed to the presence of the initial inequality based on the place of birth and the household’s financial state. Furthermore, it is difficult to provide all these opportunities because of financial constraints that will restrict free market and make taxes higher. The most illustrative example is Soviet Union, which tried to provide a relatively equal access to jobs and education, but ended up with huge debts. Another reason is the precense of bias during hiring. For instance, recruiters may have bias against applicants with specific skin color.

Talking about the role of governments, I think that it is vital to mention that providing equal job and career opportunities requires notable changes in economic policy and in governance processes. Moreover, these measures will not necessarily ensure equal access to job market. For instance, countries with no minimal wage are considered to be more prosperous, than those with strict labour regulations. Moreover, programs aimed to find a job for an individual will not be able to find anything valuable, unless the individual themselves has all the requirements, such as education, expertise, and work experience. On the contrary, I believe that the role of government in providing equal education opportunities is crucial. For instance, many post-soviet countries have decent literacy level because of the free education.

All things considered, it is an ongoing debate whether everyone should have fair career and education opportunities. It is considered difficult to implement mainly because of financial constraints and the issue’s scale. As far as I am concerned, governments should only ensure free education, but providing fair career opportunities will be inefficient and will have no valuable results.