Write about the following topic: In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing?

In today’s society, there is a huge increase in global air travel. People are using plane more and more. This increase related with some crucial reasons such as their price and comfort.

Firstly, the most important reason of the increase in the global air travel is costs. Many people think that flying is very expensive; however, they think wrong. Nowadays, a lot of airline company offers good discounts for their clients. A research which studied in Oxford University gives some informations about the prices. In this study, they set two routes and they compared their prices. The first route is Vienna, Austria to Stockholm, Sweden. First choice people can chose train – ship – train selection; it takes 12 hours and, it costs €300. However, if people choose plane, it takes only 2 hours and, it costs only €150. The second route is Berlin, Germany to Frankfurt, Germany. If people choose travel by train, it takes 6 hours and, it costs €80 – €90. If people choose travel by plane, it takes only 1 hours and, it costs just €40. This research shows that international and domestic flights are usually cheaper than using train, ship or bus. Also, airline companies offers earning miles and points by using their brand, and if people use their sponsored credit card they earn these miles and points.

Secondly, many people think that comfort is very important, especially in long distance flights. Plane chairs are more comfortable than buses’, trains’ and ships’. People can upgrade their classes online. If clients want fly more comfortable they can choose business class. In flights, many airline companies has good menu. People can eat world kitchen, and they can drink alcohol from a lot of good brands.

In my view, the increase in global air travel is not a suprize. Because, we are choosing which way is cheap and comfortable. People should not overlook the discounts. When I flew Istanbul to Amsterdam, I bought my ticket for as few as €70 and it include 20kg luggage; that was a very good experience. Also, plane feels me less anxious and, I think they are more safer than cars; it is a fact, scholars made a research about this topic.

To conclude, the increase in global air travel has two big reasons which are prices and their comfort. People feel safe when they travel with plane. Today, people do not need to pay a lot of mony for a good fly experience. Therefore, the increase in global air travel is not a suprize us.