Write about the following topic: In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing?

Across the world today people travel more frequently that ever before. Over the last ten years there has been a rapid rise in air traffic worldwide. During the course of this essay I will first focus on the possible reasons for this upturn and my views on it. It is my view that it is a positive development.

Proponents of travelling via flight give many to support it, One is that air travel is the best for long distance journeying. The speed at which airplanes move and the distance iT covers in a short while when compared to other forms of transportation means that within hours you can get anywhere across the world. for instance, should you want to travel from the United Kingdom to Nigeria such a journey by ship could take as long as a month or two, by plane? within hours.

Another reason that supports the prol;iferation of air transportation is the reliability of traveling through the sky. Because air travel is standardized and well regulated by various bodies, mishaps rarely happen. flights go where they are supposed to when they should, airports are active 24/7 and airplanes have the very best of safety features. Moreover, it has become cheaper than ever before so people who could otherwise not afford it now can and this has definitely contributed to that rapid rise in air traffic.

To sum up, there has indeed been an upturn in air traffic worldwide, this is due to a number of factors like the fact that it is not only fast but it is safe, comfortable, reliable and is relatively inexpensive. I am of the opinion that this is a good development and should be maintained.