Some people believe that English, as a global language, should be the only language used for international communication. Others argue that relying solely on English threatens linguistic diversity and cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the view that English should be the sole language of global communication?

There is a growing debate about whether English should be the only language used for international communication. Many people hold the view that English damages linguistic diversity and cultural identity. I strongly disagree that English stands for global communication. Firstly, the English language could damage the traditional language in a specific country and produce difficulties to understand with local people.

First of all, English could threaten traditional language. The main reason is because numerous local people easily get affected to foreign cultures especially due to the modern era that many social media users have existed. Nowadays, a lot of platforms use English because of its international users using English and it is the requirement to communicate in social media because large numbers of people do not know about Indonesian language. In addition, Indonesians push themselves to learn English. As a result, Indonesians use English to communicate and their local language is gradually lost.

Another important point is that a large number of Indonesians have a low rate of education, especially to learn foreign languages. This is because English education is uneven in Indonesian schools and most of the citizens could not accept new cultures. Although, in this modern era English is known as the most important language in Indonesia. For instance, international education is mostly located in central Java and the number of national schools is higher than international schools.This may lead students not well-educated about foreign languages even if they can study English with the internet. Therefore, foreign people that use English as their main language struggle to talk with Indonesians.

Consequently, the English language is the most essential language due to most of the users in social media using English as their main international communication and local people had to take an extra lesson about English. On the other hand, numerous Indonesians don’t have high education about English and may lead natives to suffer to communicate with local people.