SOme people believe that it is better to live and work in a vertical city with multiple tall buildings , as compared to a hotizontal city ith fewer tall buildings

People have different views as to whether vertically built cities are better for living and working or cities housing fewer tall buildings provide better amenities for these purposes.

While horizontally expanded urban areas can offer better safety and sense of belonging, I am of the view that infrastructural efficiency of high-rise buildings creates a more livable atmosphere.

Admittedly, horizontal cities provide better privacy and security. This is because people have more access to personal outdoor spaces and natural light. This allows them to feel more secure and free, in comparison to those living in skyscrapers. In terms of safety, it is much easier to evacuate a two-storey building than descending 50 floors in times of emergencies. Additionally, people in this kind of area have a better awareness of their neighborhood, since they have fewer neighbors than residents of tall residential blocks, thereby having stronger sense of belonging and togetherness. These reasons illustrate why this viewpoint continues to have supporters.

However, I side with those who consider that vertically expanded cities are better for work and life. Firstly, high-rise buildings accommodate a large number of people, taking a small geographical area simultaneously. This allows surrounding green areas to remain better preserved and away from clearance for dwelling needs. The more green spaces situated close to residential areas, the better the air quality is, improving life quality in the area. Secondly, it is easier to provide utilities, electricity, water, high-speed internet, to one giant building than to 200 seperate houses, making it cheaper for residents to dwell. Furthermore, high number of floors means that it can not only provide housing, but also offices, stores, training gyms, entertaining facilities in the same block or even in the same building, thereby reducing commuting times and costs for people residing there.

To conclude, although horizontal cities can foster sense of belonging and provide better privacy, I believe that vertical cities offer more benefits for both working and living.