"The increase in people taking expensive vacations is a positive or negative development?"

A growing number of people are engaging in costly holidays. It is debated whether this is a positive or a negative trend. This essay argues that this is a detrimental development due to its drawbacks on the individual’s professional and financial conditions.

Going on expensive trips affects a person’s mental health negatively due to its ability to disrupt a person’s sense of reality. When one travels and splurges on high-priced experiences, products, and services, the mind eases on the presence of such things, grows attached to them, and desires not to return to reality. For instance, corporate employees who go on leave to escape their exhausting routine usually end up feeling too pampered by their experience and coming back to their jobs feeling detached from their work responsibilities, which affects their productivity and performance.

Resting luxuriously is disadvantageous to an individual’s finances, because it takes away a huge portion of one’s savings that is meant to be allocated not only for present needs but for future ones as well. A person may feel relaxed going to a beach, lying on the sand, and drinking some special beverages under the heat of the sun one morning, like that moment is all that matters to them, but in reality, they have numerous things they need to prioritize for their present and future life. Some people have parents and siblings that they need to feed and send to school, while others dream of bringing their future children to the best academies for them to reach their full potential.

Some people argue that splurging on quality time for oneself is beneficial to their mental health. They say that giving themselves the best experiences and things, even if they cost a fortune, makes them feel better about themselves and life in general. This claim may be true to some degree because treating oneself with the best quality of care brings positive effects on one’s mental health; however, the drawbacks that come with its aftereffects are also undeniable.

More people are going on costly vacations. This development is seen as beneficial by some and detrimental by others. This essay argues that such a trend is disadvantageous to an individual’s professional and financial circumstances.