It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Having a gap year before attempting to enter university is getting popular among high school graduates. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of having a gap year and provide a logical conclusion.

Having an intentional break after school has its demerits. One significant drawback is that it leads pupils to postpone careers, resulting in delayed financial independence. In this case, people depend on family longer putting themselves under a lot of stress and psychological pressure. Furthemore, another concern is that it reduces motivation to continue higher education because people get used to working or travelling and do not want to return to a life of study. As a result, these people lose a year of study, therefore, being surpassed by their peers who have already gained valuable academic knowledge and their peers get job opportunities first.

On the other hand, a key benefit of having a sabbatical year is that school graduates can improve their hard and soft skills which allow them to become more competetive in the job market. For example, one can acquire skills like foreign languages, better communication and teamwork which make them stronger candidates for specific positions such as an international business manager, an interpreter and a travel agent. Moreover, a gap year enables people to get informed more career choices and they will be able to select jobs they truly like. This results in higher job satisfaction and a better life because of the suitable occupation and stress free atmosphere.

In conclusion, taking a break between school and university can be advantageous regarding acquiring specific skills and choosing the right job. However, they should also be careful that it may distract them for time from education and delay career.