It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE WHO DECIDED TO CONTINUE THEIR EDUCATION AT UNIVERSITY AFTER ONE YEAR GAP FROM GRADUATION OF SCHOOL IS GROWING.THEY IMPROVE THEMSELVES BOTH PERSONALLY AND FINANCIALLY DURING A GAP.BUT SOME SHORTCOMINGS CAN ALSO BE OBSERVED.

A POSITIVE ASPECT OF TAKING A YEAR OFF IS THAT STUDENTS CAN FOCUS ON SELF-DEVELOPMENT DURING THIS PERIOD.THEY USE THIS TIME TO TRAVEL,WORK,VOLUNTEER WHICH HELPS THEM GAIN REAL WORLD EXPERIENCE AND ESSENTIAL LIFE SKILLS SUCH AS COMMUNICATION,TIME MANAGEMENT,INDEPENDENCE AND RESPONSIBILITY.FURTHERMORE,GAINING WORK EXPERIENCE DURING THE PRIOD CAN IMPROVE THEIR CV MAKE THEM MORE COMPETITIVE AND BETTER CANDIDATE IN THE JOB MARKET.IN ADDITION, A GAP ALLOW STUDENTS TO SELECT MORE SUITABLE FIELD TO STUDY ACCORDING TO THEIR INTERSTS AND SKILLS.THEY HAVE ENOUGH TIME TO THINK,ANALYZE AND MAKE A BETTER CARRIER DECISION.SO,IT CAN BE HIGHLY BENEFICIAL FOR PERSONAL GROWTH.

ON THE OTHER HAND, THERE ARE SOME DROWBACKS TO DELAYING HIGHER EDUCATION.ONE OF THE WEAKNESSES OF THIS APPROACH IS RISK OF WASTING TIME.NOT ALL STUDENTS WHO TAKE A YEAR OFF CAN MANAGE THE PERIOD PRODUCTIVELY BECAUSE OF THE PLANNING.SOME OF THEM DO NOT MAKE A PROPER PLAN FOR USING THIS PERIOD,THAT IS WHY THEY WASTE VALUABLE TIME.OTHER CONCERN IS THAT STUDENTS MAY ALSO LOSE THEIR ACADEMIC MOMENTUM.IT CAN BE CHALLANGING TO RETURN TO A LEARNING ENVIRONMENT WITH FULL OF COMPETITORS AND MAINTAIN DISCILINE.

IN CONCLUSION,THOUGH A GAP YEAR GIVE A CHANCE TO GAIN EXPERIENCE TO BE MORE INFORMED ABOUT THE DECISIONS THAT SHAPE THE FUTURE OF STUDENTS,IT ALSO CARRIES SOME SIGNIFICANT DEFECTS SUCH AS TIME WASTAGE AND LOSS OF STUDY HABITS AND MOTIVATION.THEREFORE,TIME IS PRECIOUS RESOURCE AND STUDENTS SHOULD USE THIS GAP CAREFULLY.