It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Many students around the world are taking a one-year break before joining the university. This essay argues that although a year gap can allow students to add work experience to their resume, it can often lead to depression among many of them.

Taking a year off after finishing school may encourage students to get an internship or a part-time job. As students have plenty of time before returning to education, they can learn practical skills such as communication and teamwork through these jobs, which can significantly boost their confidence, academic performance, and the chances of employability after graduation. For example, studies have reported that students who took a year off before going to the university achieved higher grades than those who did not in many developed countries. However, I believe it can cause frustration among many of them.

A significant number of students get depressed when they see their batchmates will be graduating one year before them. On the other hand, many of these students do not properly utilize the gap year. Instead of doing something productive, they remain idle. This may lead to frustration among them. For example, a research article has reported that a significant percentage of students who took a 12-month break before taking admission at the university were depressed. The study highlighted that most of the depressed students were at home without doing any meaningful activity. That is why I believe this phenomenon may cause depression.

In conclusion, although a year of education can help to learn many practical skills, it may also cause frustration as many of the students waste the time without doing anything productive. This essay recommends that students should only taka a gap year if they are determined to utilize it properly.